Rants

Why I Want A Google Chromebook

Yeah I understand that a lot of people don’t see the need for them. But for what I do I think it would be brilliant.

Here are some key reasons:

  • Really lightweight
  • All my documents are stored in the cloud anyway
  • Everything I do is virtual anyway.
  • If I need to-do coding there is Chrome App’s for that
  • If I need to use heavy apps like Photoshop etc. All I simple do is. Set up remote access to my Mac Mini and then save the files to dropbox or Google Drive and it syncs to my Chromebook.

That’s just a couple of reasons why I want a Chromebook. If I honestly could afford a Macbook Air or Macbook Pro Retina I’d go for that seen as I’m in the Apple eco system. But I need a laptop that works for me and when I’m on my desktop computer at home. I more or less live in the chrome browser anyway so I don’t see why I can’t pick up a good laptop for under £200 anyway that does everything I need it to-do when I’m on the go or away from my desktop at home. For the screen size I will have to go for something with a screen 13 inch or bigger. Also also is a really fast laptop for under the £200 mark.

Here is a simple list of what I do on my computer:

  1. Go to Hootsuite to-do all my social networking stuff (visit Facebook on it’s own for messaging function)
  2. View emails
  3. Visit YouTube to catch up on Tech reviews, and of course run this blog

That’s just a small amount. The only couple of things I don’t do on the internet is video editing. I use Screenflow for my video editing tool and Photoshop for making the thumbnails. But the advance with technology these days. I know there is a couple of websites out there that offer video editing via there website. So don’t see why I can’t just use them to edit videos if I’m out and about or better yet simply use my Phone to edit the videos.

If you have any comments on the Google Chrome book please mention them down below in the comment section. The only real way I’m going to find out if the Chromebook is for me is to buy one. We will see how it goes. Hopefully soon I will be making a blog posts from a Chromebook. I forgot to mention I know you need to be connected to WiFi or cellular data to use it, but there is some offline apps available to get things done when I’m not near WiFi. I could always get a 4G hotspot from EE for when I’m on the go so I get good coverage and WiFi connection on the Chromebook. There is ways around it. Just need to dive in and get one. So keep a look out for my post on where i’m posting my review of getting a Chromebook because hopefully soon i’ll have a Chromebook.

Leave a Reply

